Sunday, February 25, 2007

[SEVEN DEADY SINS] - Which one are you?

I. pride
[] i have a hard time admitting i was wrong
[] you can never say anything bad about me
[] i hate saying sorry
[] i never show emotions
[x] i tend to blame stuff on other people
[] i'm my own best friend
[x] i'll hurt people fighting for what i believe in
[x] i'm proud of my backround
[] i brag
total: 3

II. envy
[] i'm always thinking about what i don't have
[x] i'm always thinking of ways to change
[] i want what my friends have
[] i have stolen from a friend
[] i often find myself saying "but he has it, why can't i?"
[x] i think a lot of peoples lives are perfect besides my own
[x] i know i envy people
total: 3

III. rage
[x] i often find myself slamming doors and screaming
[] my parents or friends make me so angry!
[x] i normally end up crying
[x] people often say my facial expression is angry looking even when i'm not
[] people are scared of my temper
[] someone wants me to get anger management
[] i have passionate outbursts of anger
total:3

IV. sloth
[x] i'm lazy
[] i don't care if others need me to work for them, i won't
[] i won't go out of my way to help someone
[] i don't think i'll ever have a good job
[] i don't have a work ethic, at all
[] i expect stuff to be given to me without having to work for it.
[x] i've been told that i think i'm too good for people
total: 2

V. greed
[] i don't like spending my money on people
[] i never have or will give to a charity
[x] i never give to homeless people on the streets
[] i would say i'm more of a taker then a giver
[] i always want more then i have
[] i only say thank you if someone does something really nice
[x] my sadness always needs company
total: 2

VI. gluttony
[] i use my friends
[x] i have high expatations
[x] i always want more of something, if i can have one pizza, i want two.
[x] i think a lot of things are a disappointment
[x] i use the words "must" "have to" "want" and "need" a lot
[] i would say i'm high maintenence
total: 4

VII. lust
[] i have been called a tease or a slut, not as a joke
[] i have plenty of boy toys (or girl toys)
[] if i kiss someone, it dosen't mean i want them
[] i tend to put people in akward situations
[x] my favorite color is red
[] i like to dangle things in front of people as if to say "you want, but can't have"
[] i would rather have lust then true love.
total: 1

I am a gluttonus, angry, envious, and proud girl.

Sunday, January 28, 2007

Why English is not my friend

Here is the rather short story of why I don't speak English well, and why I can't manage to care.
When I was a youngster (about 4) I didn't talk. I in fact, didn't actually begin talking full time until I learned to read. More about that later. I have two older sisters who magically knew what I wanted and what I was trying to communicate without having to speak, so I didn't have reason to. I could not pronounce my Rs (really, rabbit, March Thirty First) until I was about 8 or 9 years old. A lot of people thought the R thing was cute but I didn't; it was just fustrating. Now, and I've only realized this recently, I still don't actually speak English. I continually pronouce things wrong even when I know exactly how they should be pronouced, I use movie phrases when talking to my sisters to convey a feeling/mood, and then I just gesture the rest. This is all fine and dandy when talking to friends and family whom I've known for years, but attempting to talk to new people and giving speeches to groups is alarmingly difficult. I've found that people who are not used to my madness want to correct me when I pronounce something wrong, and I can't quote a movie if they haven't seen it, and I scare some people when I gesture too much. They all think I'm just crazy. Last week when I tried to give a extemporaneous speech (I made it up as I went) my hands shook the whole time, people kept asking me questions before I had a chance to explain the last, I called Texas a country and Bush a good president. It was a very bad day for me.
So back to the speaking/reading thing: I think (just a theory but who would know better than me anyway), that I didn't speak much before I began reading because as I speak I mentally spell out words in my head and I know what they look like as I say them. Thats why I can speak French exactly as well and I can read and write it. So it's a skill great for learning a new language, but awkward when I should technically have four more years of speaking experience with English than writing in English. Nevermind the writing really, I can spell and such, but deciphering my handwriting is an aquired skill. Only my sisters and crazy teachers who also have crazy handwriting can read it.

IM SO NEW!

Ok, so I have never had a blog before. I have several community profile/post sites (myspace, facebook), but you usually never have to post on them. Thats everyone else's job. Well, I'm going to attempt to write about important things here, and I hope that it will get me to speak English better. But in the meantime, here is my tag (and I hope it works) for facebook.



Jessica Fayne's Facebook profile